15 More Sheriffs Endorse Schultz in Historic Show of Support

PLYMOUTH, Minn. – October 13, 2022 – Today, in a continued unprecedented expression of public support, an additional 15 county sheriffs from across the state of Minnesota joined their 22 colleagues in endorsing Jim Schultz for Minnesota Attorney General. In total these sheriffs have served over four million Minnesotans or almost 75% of the state’s residents. Despite serving as Attorney General for nearly four years, Keith Ellison has zero endorsements from sheriffs, police, or law enforcement organizations.

“I am very proud to have public endorsements from 37 county sheriffs from every part of the state, including the five largest metro counties,” said Schultz. “This has never happened in Minnesota’s history. They endorsed me because Keith Ellison has emboldened criminals and ignored victims, and these sheriffs know I will support them in their work of protecting Minnesotans and in ensuring that victims receive justice.”

“It is a disgrace that Keith Ellison supported defunding and dismantling the Minneapolis police amidst the greatest increase in violent crime in decades,” Schultz continued. “Instead of destroying police forces, I will partner with law enforcement to end the revolving door of criminals not being held accountable for their actions, deliver justice for victims, and restore public safety.”

The 37 sheriffs join other law enforcement groups in their endorsement of Schultz, including the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association, the National Troopers Coalition, and the Ramsey County Deputies’ Federation.

Full list of sheriffs who have endorsed Schultz: Sheriffs James Stuart (Anoka County), Daniel Guida (Aitkin County), Todd Glander (Becker County), Ernest Beitel (Beltrami County), Troy Heck (Benton County), Tom Burch (Cass County), Mark Empting (Clay County), Scott Goddard (Crow Wing County), Tim Leslie (Dakota County), Scott Rose (Dodge County), Kurt Freitag (Freeborn County), Mark Haberer (Grant County), Victor Williams (Itasca County), Eric Holien (Kandiyohi County), Mark Wilwant (Kittson County), Allen Anderson (Lac qui Parle County), Brett Mason (Le Sueur County), Josh Guenther (Mahnomen County), Tim Langenfeld (McLeod County), Brian Cruze (Meeker County), Shawn Larsen (Morrison County), Jeremy Thorton (Norman County), Kevin Torgerson (Olmsted County), Jeffrey Nelson (Pine County), James Tadman (Polk County), Bob Fletcher (Ramsey County), Mitch Bernstein (Red Lake County), Scott Hable (Renville County), Patrick Nienaber (Sibley County), Steve Soyka (Stearns County), Jason Dingman (Stevens County), Michael Carr (Wadena County), Brad Milbrath (Wasceca County), Dan Starry (Washington County), and Sean Deringer (Wright County), Bill Flaten (Yellow Medicine County), and Rich Stanek (Hennepin County (2006 – 2018))

Join the Team

How would you like to help?
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.